L’Oréal Corporate Foundation in partnership with UNESCO and the African Network of Scientific and Technological Institutions (ANSTI) is now accepting applications for the 7th edition L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa Fellowships 2016. The fellowships support distinguished women scientists and engineers from sub-Saharan Africa.

The fellowship is in recognition of the commitment and remarkable research of mid-career women in the fields of Life Sciences (e.g. biology, genetics, physiology, neurosciences, biotechnologies, ecology) and Physical Sciences (e.g. physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering sciences, information sciences, space and earth sciences) which are all still largely dominated by men.
Fellowship Award

The 2016 fellowships will be awarded to promote and encourage talented mid-career women scientists to pursue high-level PhD studies or post-doctoral research careers in science as follows:

  1. 12 Fellowships of €5 000 each will be granted to African Ph.D. Students enrolled in an African University
  2. 2 Fellowships of €10 000 each will be granted to African postdoctoral researchers working in a laboratory or research institution registered in one of the countries of the region.

The awards of the fellowships to successful applicants will be awarded at a grand ceremony to be held in South Africa in October 2016.

  • Having obtained a PhD degree in Life or Physical Sciences or pursuing studies leading to a PhD degree
  • Having the nationality of a Sub-Saharan African country
  • Working in a Research Laboratory or Institution in one of the region’s countries or being enrolled in a doctoral programme at a University in Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Candidates must be no more than 40 years old by the end of the application period for PhD and not more than 45 years for post doctoral

Deadline: April 29, 2016


Candidates will be selected by a team of Adjudicators and the For Women in Science Jury chaired by a President of the Jury.

For more information, visit L’Oreal – UNESCO Africa Fellowship.